I leave for the Sweetheart Pageant…..TODAY!

Hello Readers!

 
Holy smokers, I cannot believe that I leave for the Sweetheart Pageant today! Now I know many of you may be asking what is the Sweetheart Pageant? Well the Sweetheart Pageant has been going on since the 1940’s. It was first called the “Miss Sweetcorn” pageant because Hoopeston, IL (where the pageant takes place) is the Sweetcorn Capital of the world.      Thank goodness I love corn on the cob! The pageant is very similar to that of Miss North Dakota meaning I will be competing in swimsuit, evening wear, talent, on-stage question, and interview. It is also a 3 day pageant like Miss ND, starting next Friday. AND ofcourse I will keep you up to date on how the competition is going and how the week is going!

Good Ol Hoopeston, IL

It’s so strange but I feel  very calm before the pageant. Usually I always get little butterflies (which I’m sure I will eventually), but today I feel at peace. Last night before I went to bed, I just had a little talk with God and asked him to let me have fun with the pageant and have him do whatever is best for me to serve him. I feel like with each pageant my faith gets stronger because I know that it is all in God’s hands. Knowing that he is there is a great feeling :).

God is always there…

Well gang, I work till 4:30 at the news station today and than my parents and I are hitting the road! It will be a good 13 hour car ride with plenty of bonding time. I can picture it now…my mom and I sitting up in the front seats singing with the radio and her drilling me with pageant questions…and my dad in the back seat saying in his { I don’t want to do this voice} “Becca I don’t want to ask you questions…I don’t know what type of questions to ask you” (even though he really does). Ahhh it’s going to be great!

Me in the newsroom…I need coffee 🙂

I will keep you all updated on my Journey to Hoopeston and how the week is going so keep reading! Also, if you have any tips/advice for me I would LOVE to  hear it! Keep in mind that this is a national pageant sooo if you have any great info/cool tid bits about why North Dakota is so awesome please share! You can comment under this post on Facebook or directly on my blog.

Talk to you soon!

Becca Lebak

Miss Oil Country/North Dakota Sweetheart Contestant 🙂

About Becca Lebak

I am a sister, artist, role model, student (mass communications major), actress, Miss North Dakota contestant, was Miss North Dakota's Outstanding Teen, leader, and friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

