Smores, Bugs, Boyfriend, Fire = One awesome camping trip!

Hello Readers!

So believe it or not…..but I was a girl scout for 12 years! And within those 12 years I must have gone camping a couple dozen times, but it never gets old! The smell of nature (or maybe not showering), the chirping of the crickets, and the moon shining bright! But I think this was the first time I had ever gone camping without my girl scout troop or my parents. This was a test of how much I remembered about setting up a tent and if I really could cook food over a fire by myself. Well…..not to toot my own horn or anything, but I think I am an awesome camper! Ladies from my troop, you would be proud! 🙂

Ahhhh I love camping!

My boyfriend and I spent the night out at Lee Lake Campground. Alright so it really wasn’t a “campground”, more like a place for everyone to park their campers and live all summer….but Nick and I tried to “rough” it as much as possible. We only jumped in the pool at the campsite because the lake looked a little icky (and the pool looked like a lot of fun).

My man by the fire

After cooling off after our dip in the pool we got a little hungry. One of my favorite dishes from camping as a young girl was a thing called “Hobo Dinner”. What you do is mix together hamburger (or any meat), vegetables like potatoes, carrots, green beans, onions, and season it…wrap it all up in tinfoil and throw it in the fire! How simple is that!? And man oh man as soon as I took that first bite I knew I was in heaven! (I don’t know if Nick liked his as much cause I kind of burned it, but it was still super good). He was in charge of making the beans…those turned out pretty good too! They came out of the fire with…a lot of character as you can see by the picture :).

Hobo Dinner…Yum!

Nick’s beans 🙂

The rest of the night we spent goofing off around the fire and watching movies off our laptops in the tent. But silly me forgetting one of the most important things from Girlscout Camping 101….a sleeping bag!! What was I thinking?? Thankfully it didn’t get too cold and we snuggled with our few blankets to keep warm. However, the amazing air mattress that looked great at the beginning of the night started deflating as the night went on sooo my back and shoulders were a little sore in the morning. I guess it’s just a sign that I’m getting old…bahhh!

It started looking like a nice place to sleep…than gravity slowly deflated it.

But I will never be too old to do a little camping! Nick and I both decided that we would like to do it again. I don’t know if we will have time this year because school is starting soon for both of us…..and I have my big National Sweetheart Pageant in like 2 weeks AND Nick officially starts football on Saturday. Let’s just say this was a great last little vacation for both of us before things get crazy. And since I’m not a Dragon cheerleader this year I don’t feel as guilty saying…Go Marauders! Good Luck with your football season babe, I’m going to try to make it to as many games as possible!

Happy Campers!

I hope you are enjoying your last couple weeks of summer vacation! As always, if you have any words of advice or encouragement for the National Sweetheart Pageant…please share! I will keep you posted on how my preparation is coming in these next 2 weeks.

 

XOXO

Becca Lebak

Miss Oil Country

About Becca Lebak

I am a sister, artist, role model, student (mass communications major), actress, Miss North Dakota contestant, was Miss North Dakota's Outstanding Teen, leader, and friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

