From skyscrapers to oil rigs…I’ve done it all!

Hello Readers!

Where do I even begin!!!? I have been so blessed this past month to have been able to go to Chicago to visit my sister….AND also travel to Tioga, ND and visit with my sponsors for Miss North Dakota and tour the oil fields. Can you say busy? But as I think about everything that has happened this past month, the word “busy” doesn’t even come to mind. I am taken over with feelings of joy, happiness, and excitement when I think about the adventures I’ve been on.

It all started with my Spring Break where I decided I was going to go to Chicago to visit my sister and her two amazing cute kids (I am the luckiest aunty in the entire world, I will argue with anyone who tries to challenge me on that) :). The trip was wonderful all the way from start to finish. This was my first time flying anywhere for a long time…let’s just say the whole “patting you down” was a new thing for me. I probably looked like a complete goof because I couldn’t believe it was finally happening to me..and I had this stupid smile on my face because I couldn’t stop giggling. In Chicago, I got to go shopping with my sister and take my niece and nephew to their favorite restaurant….CHUCK E CHEESE! Alright Alright…I will admit that I like going there every now and then too, but don’t let them know that! Speaking of favorite restaurants, my sister and I went to my favorite place to eat downtown. “Heaven on Seven” makes some of the most delicious southern style food in the entire world. If you ever go to Chicago, I would recommend eating there! I had many firsts on this trip to Chicago. I went on my first Metra ride..I ate at the California Pizza Kitchen for the first time..and I ran outside in a sports bra for the first time this season (It was almost 80 degrees when I was there, wow!). Chicago is one amazing city…but it’s my family that makes it so special. Thank you Laura for being such an amazing sister and stopping at every Dunken Doughnuts and letting me get coffee…and letting me eat the rest of your nutella. I love you so much!

The adventure did not stop when I returned from Chicago. Next stop for Becca Lebak was a little bit smaller than Chicago…but just as busy if not more! Tioga, ND is a small town about 45 miles away from Williston. It is in the heart of the oil industry and it is what I would like to call my pageant home. My dad and I left for Tioga Friday morning at about 3:30 am so we could make it for the 7 am supervisor meeting. With the help of coffee and Diet Mountain Dew we finally made it! I was given the opportunity to meet many of the people who run the Hess Corporation in Tioga. No pressure right?? I was blown away because every person at this Corporation had a job..and each job was unique and special to making it run the way it did. Lucky for me, I got to follow one of the most amazing Hess employees out there, Steven Fretland. Steven and his other employee, Janae, gave me a tour of the whole facility and answered all of my questions ( I had A LOT of questions). We also went around Tioga meeting my other sponsors. THANK YOU to all of my amazing sponsors! You have no idea how much it means to me that you believe in me and want to help support me in my journey to Miss North Dakota. After driving around Tioga and meeting many of the business owners, we took to the fields! Now I know what your thinking…what is so special about the oil fields? Okay so I will admit that I used to think this at first too…but holy cow! The oil fields are booming! There is so much technology out there and it is growing daily. The Bakken Formation is huge and thanks to the “fracking” technology we are able to get the oil out of the rock that it is hiding in. Just think of this…technology has allowed us to go miles underneath the earth and explore what history has left for us. My dad kept reminding me throughout the day that the oil we are taking from the ground came from animals and plants that lived thousands of years ago. That thought baffled me. Steven showed me all of the different types of oil rigs and the depths that they went under the ground. He knew everything out there! Every piece of land and every oil rig had some importance and a name. I could go into more detail…but to keep this blog nice and short I will keep it out. Traveling to Tioga has opened my eyes to what amazing things are happening in our state. I am so glad that I am representing such a wonderful community at Miss North Dakota. THANK YOU Steven Fretland for being such a great tour guide, friend, and role model. You made my day in Tioga a blast! I can’t wait to come back soon!

Well readers….that was my last two weeks/month in a nut shell. It was a little condensed, compressed, and compacted but hopefully you got the jist of what I was saying. How have YOU been enjoying this nice weather? 🙂

If you want to learn more about what is happening out in the oil fields check out the Hess website at hess.com. You will be amazed!

XOXO

Becca Lebak 🙂

Miss Oil Country 2012

About Becca Lebak

I am a sister, artist, role model, student (mass communications major), actress, Miss North Dakota contestant, was Miss North Dakota's Outstanding Teen, leader, and friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

