If you open your eyes, it’s amazing what you will see!

Hello Readers,

What a silly name for a blog title right? You are probably thinking “okay Becca, we all have eyes, and we see things everyday”. But to make sense of this whole title nonsense I will start off with a story….

This last week I volunteered at the Children’s Miracle Network “Care’s for Kids” radiothon. I was very excited to be doing it again, because I had a blast the year before. But for some reason, something seemed different this year. I’m not sure if it was because I was a whole year older and had that “mature” outlook on the experience…or if I just opened my eyes this time.

I met some wonderful people from around the area, and many of them had a story or explanation as to why they were volunteering their time. I met one woman who’s daughter was born with a dissability. Her daughter did not have the ability to talk, eat, or walk. At first, I felt extremely sad for this woman. But as I got to know her, I realized that she was probably one of the strongest females I have met in a long time. She explained to me that she would not want her life to be any different. She also said that having a daughter with a disability has been a challenge, but one that has made her see life in a whole new way.  This woman was amazing and taking time out of her day to help raise money for other children like her daughter. I find that extremely commendable and courageous. 

I met many other wonderful people that night including a young man who had just finished his last day of chemo after 3 and a half years! Wow! Another young girl had just finished her chemo treatment that day. These kids are so brave and inspirational. Although life may really stink for them sometimes, they have the best attitude! (Let’s just say a few tissues were needed when they were telling us their stories).

Now I know you are wondering what the Radiothon was raising money for? The Children’s Miracle Network holds this event to raise money to help kids have a “wish” come true. The kids that I met had wished for everything from a boat, a trip to Disney World to have breakfast with the Princesses, to swimming with dolphins. Their wishes were so cool and unique! If you want to find out how you can help make these kid’s wishes come true..check out childrensmiraclenetworkhospitals.org

See…now think of how many things I had probably missed the year before? I had fun last year, but this year I not only had fun..but I came out of that volunteering experience with a whole new outlook on life. It made me very thankful for my health and lifestyle. But I now appreciate those things a lot more because of these kids. They are such an inspiration. So how about this…I challenge you to open your eyes! The next time you are waiting to pick up your coffee at the local coffee shop, look around the room. Or when you are running those couple errands, take a glance at who is in the mall or grocery store. You may be surprised at the things you miss out on every day. “Keep your ears open, your eyes open, grab everything you can, react, and learn!”–Quote by Victoria Abril.

XOXOXO

Becca Lebak 🙂

About Becca Lebak

I am a sister, artist, role model, student (mass communications major), actress, Miss North Dakota contestant, was Miss North Dakota's Outstanding Teen, leader, and friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

