Blogging = a way to rewind and capture

Hello Readers!

I say this every time, but I wish I had more time to blog. But, I feel that if I was rushed to “just get a blog out there”, they would not mean as much to me. I am taking a creative writing class this semester and my professor is a hoot! Although some days he seems a little crazy (okay maybe a majority of the days), he is one of the most inspiring educators I have had this year. The way he talks about writing makes me want to write more often. He tells us to find some place where can just write..don’t think, just write. And I find myself to have a hard time with this some days because I am always so concerned about wording and grammar. But here I am, writing a blog. Not because it is a class assignment. But purely for the joy of writing and hoping that someone can find joy in reading my nonsense.

I met Barry Weiss from the A&E show "Storage Wars" while at work at WDAY

Well, 2012 has started out to be a pretty fantastic year! Did I mention busy? Okay, fantastic and really BUSY! What does busy really mean anyways? (Random thought—I might look it up after this blog). But a lot has happened in a short amount of time. The MSUM Campus News is heating up and the first show airs next Saturday the 11th. Being a producer for the Campus News is a big responsibility and a huge time commitment, but the leadership and teamwork skills I am gaining are unreal! I love the group of photographers and reporters that I have..my section of Arts and Entertainment is the best! In addition to Campus News, I’ve recently started taking voice lessons again. I mean it’s only been 2 years since I’ve had them so what could change? Umm….A heck of a lot has changed! I am starting to understand the concept of your voice as being an instrument, and man, that thing needs to be warmed up for it to work properly. My instructor, Robin Allebach, is fantastic! A beautiful woman on the outside and on the inside. Besides Campus News and voice lessons, I’ve also kind of started a New Year’s Resolution (okay so it’s a little late for that)..so maybe we can just say I have started my Lent season early. But I am trying to give up pop, candy, and “bad for you” snacks. Miss North Dakota is in 5 months and I am keeping my focus until than! For some reason every time I think about it, the song “Eye of the Tiger” pops into my head. I would love to hear any of your tips, words of encouragement, or comments on my new “Lent/New Year’s” challenge. Diet Coke and Diet Mountain Dew have been dear friends of mine, but I am ready for a break!

My MSUM Cheer Team

  I forgot to mention one thing…my cheer team at MSUM has been improving and growing so much in the last few weeks! We may be small, but we are mighty. I am also very proud of the men’s and women’s basketball team, they have been doing amazing lately. Watching them makes me feel proud to be a Dragon.

   February has just started and I already have a feeling it is going to be a good month! Well, if you thought this blog was a little silly, you can thank my Creative Writing professor for giving me the inspiration to do one this weekend. But if you enjoyed this blog, go out and start your own! For real, I bet if you sit down for only 10 minuets and write, you will be surprised at how much want to say and how good you feel about saying it.

Until the next blog,

XOXO

Becca Lebak

Miss Oil Country 2012

Mom and Dad Lebak at a Dragon Basketball game

About Becca Lebak

I am a sister, artist, role model, student (mass communications major), actress, Miss North Dakota contestant, was Miss North Dakota's Outstanding Teen, leader, and friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

